Pocket Page Swaps

PP9It’s the latest and the greatest!!  It’s a what?  It’s something my LLS is doing with their regulars so I thought I’d give it a whirl.  It’s a simple concept, you need a pocket page.  Right now, the pages used for baseball cards is go-to product to have on hand.  We were encouraged to use our scraps, left overs and bits & pieces.  Many out there follow a format shared on Janette Lanes blog but there are not real rules.  Once complete, you fold it and it fits into a #10 mailing envelope.  I’ve enjoyed it so much I’ve done two now.  The above is my second and is currently enroute to Texas to once of my scrappy friends.  The first, I don’t want to spoil the fun for my recipient.  So, I’ll follow up with a pic later!

PP8Now in the swap group I play in, we too did a pocket letter swap.  But we changed it up.  Since many of our members enjoy the Project Life format, it was decided to use page protectors we’d have on hand, 12×12 dimensions.  So the cards are actually bigger.  3×4 and 4×6 are the actual dimensions.  My swap partner is from Texas.   HOW FUNNY and cool is that, considering I just moved from Texas in June.  The hand written letter is hidden in a fold card.  For me, I don’t think I want people reading something that could have potential of being highly personal or confidential.

PP6 PP5 PP4

I made two 3×4 cards and reconstructed one glassine pocket to hold some goodies.  The fourth pocket, I slid some cute little Tim Holtz charms and chalk board tags into.  Seeing things “float” in the pockets really goes against my nature so I did my own thing.  I hope my partner forgives me!

PP2 PP1

On my 4×6 cards I did “hidden journaling” (it’s the left card) and on the right card I played with white ink and white embossing powders on dark papers.  I feared the watercolor pencils wouldn’t be vibrant enough, but was happily surprised.

PP3 PP7

I also tried to build as many layers as I could, using inks, stencils, embossing paste, fussy cutting, veneer cutouts and pop-dots.  I really LOVED these last two cards and I think I’m gonna need to recreate them for a personal project!

Well it’s time to clear the deck for the next challenges.  Thanks for stopping by!

3 thoughts on “Pocket Page Swaps

  1. I didn’t realized you had moved! I decided to check your old blog and well there it was so here I am! Glad I found you! Love what you’re doing! Seems to be your niche for now! Glad you are fitting in and finding your grove! Miss you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

